Skip to content

“Same As It Ever Was”

February 24, 2007

Gradually.
Getting.
Worse.

Cue up David Byrne’s expressive gestures during “Once in a Lifetime,” from the video Stop Making Sense… if those hand chops don’t actually mean “gradually getting worse” in Native American sign language, as I’ve frequently heard, they certainly should.

Or maybe it’s not so gradually…

While the remixed Calvin & Hobbes “last ever” strip may well be, as billed, the saddest comic strip ever (according to a Metafilter thread that has since been deleted, since apparently everyone but me saw it years ago)… I think maybe the one at the top of this 2004 page from Get Your War On may have more import:

“What do I want for Christmas? I want to be wrong. I want to be totally wrong about everything. And I mean embarrassingly wrong. I want Iraq to be a flourishing, humane, free-market democracy this time next year, and to actually turn to me and say, ‘In your face, cynical New York man! Your visionary president sowed the seeds of democracy in me while you stood around and belly-ached!’ And then I’ll be like, ‘Damn, I guess I never really did have any idea what the fuck I was moaning about, huh? My bad, Mr. President.'”

(That mnftiu link is something I also gleaned from Metafilter, by the way – a different discussion, though, and I remember reading the strip at the time, anyway. And I still remember the moment of epiphany when I realized, belatedly, what MNFTIU stood for…)

I, too, would like to have been totally wrong about Iraq, and not be forced to have to agree with this assessment from Baghdad Burning (as found on Jorn Barger’s Robot Wisdom Auxiliary):

“And yet, as the situation continues to deteriorate both for Iraqis inside and outside of Iraq, and for Americans inside Iraq, Americans in America are still debating on the state of the war and occupation- are they winning or losing? Is it better or worse.

“Let me clear it up for any moron with lingering doubts: It’s worse. It’s over. You lost. You lost the day your tanks rolled into Baghdad to the cheers of your imported, American-trained monkeys. You lost every single family whose home your soldiers violated. You lost every sane, red-blooded Iraqi when the Abu Ghraib pictures came out and verified your atrocities behind prison walls as well as the ones we see in our streets. You lost when you brought murderers, looters, gangsters and militia heads to power and hailed them as Iraq’s first democratic government. You lost when a gruesome execution was dubbed your biggest accomplishment. You lost the respect and reputation you once had. You lost more than 3000 troops. That is what you lost America. I hope the oil, at least, made it worthwhile.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

