Skip to content

Canyoneros and O’Rourke

June 3, 2009

P.J. O’Rourke, who seems to have turned into something of a cranky old coot himself while I wasn’t looking, can kiss my pointy-headed liberal Portland, Oregon-dwelling fundament. I didn’t kill GM. Anytime GM had wanted to sell me a car that sips gas, lasts ten years without major breakdowns, can park without a tugboat assist, and just simply feels good to handle when I sit behind the wheel, they could’ve done so. But GM and other American car makers spent decades telling me they didn’t want my kind anyway, pitching bloatmobiles and Canyoneros with ads aimed at other people, preaching the same sort of long-debunked open-road suburban mythology that O’Rourke is still spouting.

Cupholders-per-passenger is not a valid metric. Gallons-per-mile isn’t either; nor is how many time zones it stretches across or even how many dozens of cylinders its engine has. I don’t want a car that proves I’m a man; there’s no such thing. I just drive a car that lets me get on with being one.

Via Jason Kottke’s roundup of GM and auto industry posts, 6/2/2009.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. anhidonia permalink
    June 4, 2009 11:19 pm

    I can never think of P.J. O’Roarke without thinking that he used to write for National Lampoon – so when I hear him say anything stupid I always think maybe he still thinks he is working for N.L.
    I do like him on Wait Wait Don’t Tell Me – a lone conservative voice in a sea of liberal topical comedy.

    Here is a more “balanced” comentary on cars from P.J.
    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=104800385

  2. June 5, 2009 5:47 am

    Hey, I actually heard the first part of that NPR commentary from O’Rourke when it aired… I remember thinking “when did they hire Andy Rooney?”

    Submarine races… heh.

  3. Laura permalink
    June 7, 2009 10:22 pm

    Amen Bruddah! What you said!
    Truly! However, I am beginning to think I no longer have an original thought in my head, since I seem to have Blogger’s Block lately. >.<

    • June 7, 2009 10:32 pm

      Eh, don’t fret about bloggers’ blogk… post as the spirit moves ya. That’s all I do, anyway…

Leave a Reply

