Skip to content

Elevator Music

June 4, 2009

Just curious… I don’t use elevators much these days, and I wanted to ask the Lazyweb:

In your experience nowadays, do elevators actually have elevator music playing in them:
1. Always
2. Usually
3. Sometimes
4. Never
?

Please also mention the city and state or country you’re in, especially if you hear elevator music a lot… thanks!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. anhidonia permalink
    June 4, 2009 10:54 pm

    Gosh, I do not ride in many elevators. This must be due to a combination of factors: taking stairs when ever possible, living in a city that does not have a tremendous number of tall buildings, and leading a dull and somewhat restricted life. The places I can think of the need to move a lot up people up and down have escalators. So I think – is there such a thing as escalator music? – and find that others have already had this thought.

    http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=escalator%20music

    escalator music - logan airport

    What was the question again? Oh, yeah – 4, PDX

  2. June 5, 2009 5:53 am

    Yeah, PDX is relatively elevator-poor; that’s one of the reasons I found myself wondering about this. I can’t remember having heard music in an elevator in years.

    That Flickr video was oddly impressive, although it did sound like there were puppies yelping.

  3. anhidonia permalink
    June 5, 2009 7:06 pm

    Sounds like the Zoo at dawn to me – a pack of hyenas with their puppies and some sea lions being fed.

    • June 5, 2009 10:21 pm

      Haven’t been to the Zoo at dawn myself, but I can hear that too. I think found music in general is interesting… maybe I should do a post about it sometime, eh?

  4. anhidonia permalink
    June 7, 2009 10:40 am

    Yes, yes, yes. I would like t read/hear a post about found music. I like found-everything!

    http://www.grocerylists.org/lists/100/Pages/0096.shtml

    • June 7, 2009 10:36 pm

      Heh… the presence of liquor on a grocery list still looks odd to me, even after spending time in L.A.

      I’ll have to see what I can dig up on found music… could be interesting!

  5. Laura permalink
    June 7, 2009 10:31 pm

    4. Hawai’i

    Just as an aside, in London the elevators talk to you. Every elevator has the same woman’s voice that says “Flaw Tuuuu”, “Flaw THReeeee”, “Flaw Faw” as the door opens at each floor…for the blind, I believe. I love this. Still find myself repeating “Flaw Tuuuu” at times. Oh, and the subway says, “Mind the gap!” as its doors open.

    Found music post would be grand, yes!!

Leave a Reply

