Skip to content

Why I Have No Friends

August 2, 2009

Or very few, at least. This is how I was described in the words of a certain someone who’s very dear to me, someone related to me by blood, someone who would not have survived the original Passover:

You’re like a moray eel. When it’s light, you hide in your hole in the rock. Then, when it’s dark, you slither out in search of coffee and blogs.

It’s nice when your offspring can make you laugh out loud…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    August 8, 2009 1:08 am

    Ha! Too funny, and soooooo familiar.
    I’m an eel, too!! Well, an orthopedically challenged eel…do eels have hips??

    • August 8, 2009 11:22 pm

      I know you were probably not serious about that question but… yeah, I think snakes and eels have vestigial hips; according to this old Discover magazine article I found, they do have such skeletal structures.

      Eels (the band) is also very hip, by the way.

      Maybe this (sort of overexplaining) is another reason why I have no friends, eh?

      Update 8/9: added an Eels link.

  2. Laura permalink
    August 11, 2009 2:41 am

    No, no, the scary part is the question was half serious. Thank you for the band pointer and the run-down on vestigial hips! I did not know that. Fascinating!

    I happen to love tangentially overexplanatory tendencies…they make all my tangentially overinquisitive tendencies seem balanced.

    Maybe this is why I have no friends, eh?

    • August 11, 2009 6:33 am

      Heh – thanks. I’ve often said my best epitaph would be, “But I digress…”

Leave a Reply

