Skip to content

Ludic Interlude

August 25, 2009

I’ve only played it a few times so far, but Must Pop Words (via Kottke) promises to be quite addictive. Kottke’s right… it’s like Boggle crossed with Tetris, and rewards the fast and careful typist. Just ignore the annoying Facebook-tentacles and concentrate on popping words…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    August 26, 2009 1:15 pm

    I don’t understand. I typed tons of words in there, but it only accepted two of them. Does it pick and choose what words to accept? Do they have to be several syllables?
    Frustrating…not fun. 😦

    • August 27, 2009 11:28 pm

      Aw, I’m sorry you didn’t have fun with this. It does have kind of an odd dictionary (No plurals? No conjugations?) but I didn’t have any trouble coming up with words it liked most of the time. I suspect a problem with the dictionary lookup it’s doing… maybe latency or bandwidth are an issue (if it’s timing out before finding the words you type in its list) or maybe it’s something about the Flash version or configuration on your machine that the game is having trouble with.

      There are plenty of other games, anyway, but I’m sorry to’ve steered you wrong on this one!

  2. Laura permalink
    August 28, 2009 1:35 pm

    It may be my browser. I think I was using Firefox, but it may have been Safari. Or maybe it doesn’t like my Enter key. I really like the penguin, though, and the bubbles!

    • August 28, 2009 11:10 pm

      I use Firefox too, so I doubt it was the browser. Safari, I can’t say… haven’t ever installed or used that one, but I think it may be a bit more quirky…

Leave a Reply

