Skip to content

Small things I like (3)

January 13, 2010

(3rd in a series…)

Seven-Up bottle opener

"Fresh Up" with Seven-Up

I like this small metal bottle opener because it does just one thing, and it does that thing extremely well. It opens bottles—that’s it. There isn’t even a can opener at the other end. It’s strong and small, but not so small that I can’t find it when I need to.

It may even be an antique, but I don’t care; I never want to get rid of it.

I even like the advertisement: “FRESH UP” WITH SEVEN-UP. If all embedded advertising were this cleanly done, I wouldn’t hate it nearly so much. This simple slogan hails from a more innocent time, before the proliferation of viral marketing and advertorials and so on, the desperate, doomed struggle to place advertising on every conceivable surface in the hope of catching us in an unguarded moment.

No, this slogan is subtle, blending in with the surface of the piece; and it’s also apposite—what better time for thinking about sugary soda pop than when opening a bottle of that or some other beverage? Mmm… think I’ll go use it right now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Candy Wynne permalink
    January 24, 2010 5:19 pm

    Now I find myself trying to figure out the first and second in the series. Won’t you share for a newcomer?

    • January 24, 2010 6:17 pm

      Hi, Candy! Well, you could just scro-o-oll-l-lll slowly and lovingly through every one of my posts, each one composed of 99 44/100% deathless prose (heh) but… oh, okay. Here ya go:

      Small Things I Like, and
      Small Things I Like (2).

      We aim to please!

      • Candy permalink
        January 28, 2010 10:18 pm

        Such wonderful little things! I really understand the shower faucet. It’s amazing how a simple improvement can change your life. There are a couple of things in my life that are so special, just because they fulfill their function in an elegant way.

      • January 28, 2010 11:46 pm

        Glad you liked ’em, Candy! Unlike the Small Things that Scare Me, I figure I’ll be adding more small things I like as I notice ’em. Keep on thinking positively!

Leave a Reply

