Skip to content

Nostalgia Must Be Crushed… Like Ice

April 10, 2010

I used to have one of these rocket-shaped ice crushers, acquired through sheer luck from some rummage sale or second-hand store. I got rid of it during a move, but I may have lightened the load too far that time—I’ve never seen another one.

Found this post on Retro Thing via a Google Image search for something entirely different… yay, serendipity!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Candy permalink
    April 11, 2010 4:45 pm

    Sigh. It’s always the thing you think you’ll never use again. The thing you send to the Goodwill without a backward glance. The thing that later shows up on a website, usually with a h-u-g-e price tag.

    On a related note, I still make myself sick thinking about all the toys that I got as a child that I PLAYED WITH, rather than wrapping up in cotton wool and keeping for my old age. I could be sitting pretty!

    That really is a cool ice crusher, but my refrigerator door does it for me without complaint.
    Of course, it isn’t bright red . . .

    • April 11, 2010 5:34 pm

      Yes… but it’s that interval of not-caring that creates nostalgia, isn’t it? At least, in the case where the loss of the object of desire was voluntary. Those things we care about enough to have kept around cannot be missed in the same way.

      And… isn’t there something rather terrible and sad about a toy that’s never been played with? In the Arctic archipelago right next to the Island of Misfit Toys (and therein lies a whole ‘nother nostalgic post, eh?), there’s the grim Island of Newinbox, where guards on forklifts patrol endless aisles of untouched toys purchased only for investment purposes…

      • Candy permalink
        April 11, 2010 9:42 pm

        Yes, I do agree with you. There is something sad, and really kinda creepy, about kids who don’t play with their toys. I was really just being silly. I did know some kids whose parents wouldn’t let them play with their expensive toys — just look at them once in a while — but that always struck me as sick. Toys are meant to be played with.

        Nostalgia is a wonderful place to visit, though. I don’t know what’s in your nostalgia closet, but I have a beautiful pair of navy wool sailors’ bell-bottom pants that had a 13 button front and laces in the back. The buttons supposedly represented the 13 original colonies. And I fit into these pants as if they were made for me and didn’t have to hem them, despite the fact that I am only 5 feet tall (are there a lot of sailors with very short legs?) I bought them from the Salvation Army in Bakersfield in 1972 for a couple of dollars. I wore them for years, until I lost them and they took up residence in that closet. Thanks for making me think of them again!

Leave a Reply

